April 23, 2007

Lucy's Children Honor Their Mother at 5th Annual TVLand Awards

For those who didn't catch the 5th Annual TVLand Awards Sunday, Lucille Ball was honored with the Legacy of Laughter award by her children, Desi Arnaz Jr. and Lucie Arnaz.

Lucy earned the first ever Legacy of Laughter Award at the event, which taped April 14th in Santa Monica, Calif. Kirstie Alley introduced the award and Carol Burnett presented the Award.

Below are pictured Kirstie Alley during the introductions and Carol Burnett doing her trademark ear-tug:

For those who may have missed the event, you can view it on the 2007 TV Land Awards Show Highlights website! Below are more pictures from that event.

Pictured above are Lucy's children, Desi Arnaz, Jr. and Lucie Arnaz, who played with Lucy as her children Craig Carter and Kim Carter in "Here's Lucy".

Pictured above are Jimmy Garrett, who played Jerry Carmichael in "The Lucy Show" and Keith Thibodeaux, who played Little Ricky in "I Love Lucy".

Other awards that were presented that night were:

"Roots" received the Anniversary Award 30 years after the public first saw the momentous miniseries that took a realistic view at slavery. Forest Whitaker and Morgan Freeman presented the prize to the miniseries' cast.

"Heroes" took the Future Classic Award. Masi Oka and Jack Coleman were among the cast members attending.

"Hee Haw" received Entertainer Award. Willie Nelson performed "On the Road Again" and "City of New Orleans" to honor the variety show. Roy Clark and other cast members accepted the prize.

"Taxi" earned the Medallion Award. The ceremony reunited cast members Judd Hirsch, Danny DeVito, Tony Danza, Carol Kane, Jeff Conaway and Randall Carver.

"The Brady Bunch" won the Pop Culture Award. Accepting the prize were Ann B. Davis, Florence Henderson, Barry Williams, Christopher Knight, Maureen McCormick, Mike Lookinland and Susan Olsen. James Lipton also interviewed the cast.

In another segment, McCormick and Williams sang along with the ceremony's host, Kelly Ripa, who also re-enacted the openings of "The Mary Tyler Moore Show," "That Girl" and "The Flying Nun" at the beginning of the event. She opened the awards flying onto the stage as The Flying Nun!

No comments:

Post a Comment