June 09, 2006

Lucy Award goes to Geena Davis

Geena Davis wins Lucy AwardWomen in Film rolled out the red carpet Tuesday night, June 6th, to award Geena Davis with the Lucy Award, which celebrates talented women in film and TV.

Women in Film also honored Jennifer Lopez with the 2006 Crystal Award.

Geena Davis was bestowed the Lucy Award, named after Lucille Ball, which is given to recognize women and men who demonstrate the same extraordinary qualities as the redheaded comedienne. "This is really, really special for me," Davis said. "I've been to a lot of Women In Film events and luncheons and seen Meryl Streep and incredible people get an award, and it's incredibly thrilling to be included."

Past winners of the Lucy Award include Debra Messing, Megan Mullally, Carol Burnett, Barbara Walters, Sherry Lansing, Blythe Danner and Angela Lansbury.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Help Support this Lucy Blog - Shop Amazon